#1 Bakemeacake

Bakemeacake

Mild

• Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 01 August 2019 - 01:39 PM

Hi guys,

I have some questions regarding the lighting for my pepper seedlings. To start, let me say this is my first year gardening and I went about a few things the wrong way and am now trying to correct those mistakes as I learn more. I initially got some bad info that I could grow my seeds in a window sill. After I started doing this, I noticed that the seedlings were getting very "leggy" and were stretching for the light (some fell over and died), even though they were in a very sunny, south-facing window. Now, I have purchased two 30 watt LED grow lights from Amazon (link) and have arranged them around the seedlings in such a way that is shown in the attached images. 

I leave the lights on for 12 hours a day and water enough to keep them moist. The seedlings are still very thin as of right now, but it has only been a few days since I started using the lights. Will this setup be sufficient to grow them until I transplant outside, or will I need to make adjustments?

growlights.jpg

growlights2.jpg

leggyjap.jpg

#2 solid7

solid7

Smokin' Hot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,072 posts
  • aka:Solid7

Posted 01 August 2019 - 01:48 PM

I have a 400W and a 600W LED with UV spectrum, that I use(d) for my indoor plants, all the way from seedling.  That gets me all the way up to pod stage, for about 6 plants.

I have never used anything like what you have going, but it seems to me that it's highly underpowered.  Maybe someone else knows better.

Dave2000 - "Problem is, you happened upon the REAL DEAL."

#3 willard3

willard3

Smokin' Hot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,131 posts

Posted 02 August 2019 - 06:57 AM

This should be posted in "Grow Tech" where: Discuss lights, heaters, irrigation systems, greenhouses, and DIY solutions. Show off your inventions!

Edited by willard3, 02 August 2019 - 06:59 AM.

Santa Maria Ahuacatitlan, Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico