• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Just purchased my tomato/sweet pepper seeds

Just got off the phone with tomatogrowers.com and got my 'mater and sweet pepper seeds. I have grown tomatoes for a long time and decided to go with new varieties this year.

Tomatoes
Tiffany
Jetsetters
Kimberly
Early Wonder
Lemon Boy
Golden Girl
Cherokee Chocolate
White Beauty
With the exception of golden girl these will be varieties I have never tried before. I'm particularly curious about the cherokee chocolate and the white beauty which of course is a white tomato. Anyone have any experience with these varieties?

Sweet Peppers
Jupiter
Banana Supreme
Ariane Hybrid

Anyone ever grow these?

I am growing the Ariane Hybrid.....

It's a great sweet pepper....Good size, very sweet and moist, and it's a great colour...

Was really disappointed with the White Beauty. We had a not-so-great growing season but it was not near as prolific as many others. The Cherokee was also a disappointment but it's the nature of the fruit. Wait until the entire tom ripens and the bottom starts to rot. Get it when the bottom and middle are ripe and toss 1/3 of the fruit into the scrap heap.

Maybe a great growing season will make a difference for you. Two years ago we had a drought and while the early season (until mid-August) was bountiful, after that very little. This year, it seemed I would get enough toms from 45 plants to make at most 10 quarts of juice. Last year, it was easy to get 20 quarts from one evening's harvest.

Mike

I grew a white tomato this year for the first time. It was a cherry tomato called Snow White..it was really good and sweet.

ddrsheden said:
I grew a white tomato this year for the first time. It was a cherry tomato called Snow White..it was really good and sweet.

I am also growing the snow white, and the 'Hugh' (white) tomato...