• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Am I overwatering seedlings?

Hey all, hope you are well. I am new to pepper growing so I decided to start small and try to just get a plant to take indoors before I went crazy with larger attempts. I installed a grow light in the water-heater closet and installed a heatpad for bottom-heat for flats. I used the peat pellets for first attempt and BAM......habanero seedlings emerged roughly five days later. I used 2 seeds per pellet and did the plastic covering, removed on emergence and poured the light to them. All was going well, first actual leaves after cotyledons (sp?) came on and all was looking well. I used an oscilatting fan to strengthen stems during all this. Here's where all went wrong. This morning I awoke to all seedlings laid completely over with the stem near the peat pellet almost "pinched" off and brown colored. I searched all over the web and the only thing I found that sounds like my problem is damping off fungus. I kept the same watering routine from the start, but like I said.....I'm a newb so I'm asking......is this my problem? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated so thanks in advance.

My best germinating successes have always been with jiffy pellets - Also my greatest frustrations in the seedling stage.

I use a spray bottle to water the pellets several times a day. They dry out pretty fast and a few spritzes several times daily keeps the seedlings growing and healthy. I almost destoyed an entire batch with bottom watering once, so you must be really careful not to over water that way.

Heat will wilt them very quickly, so it's tempting to give them too much water. If heat is the problem, get them to a cool place and lightly mist the leaves and only spritz the pellets if they are dry, but don't saturate them. Too much heat can wilt and knock them over even if the pellets have water.