• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Chiltepins?

This is my first year growing chiltepins. The seeds came from the Chile Pepper Institute. As I expected, they were pretty slow to germinate, but now I have 5 healthy-looking little plants in 5" pots. As soon as I am able I plan to put them in those whisky half-barrels, to let them grow as large as they want to. The trunks on all of them seem a little spindly, however, for plants that can allegedly grow to over 6 feet tall. Anyone here got much experience with these peppers? I read the other post about the "nurse" trees...Do they really need that much shade?

Would appreciate your thoughts. I love really hot chiles (just ate a Red Habanero at lunch), and I was born in South Texas, so I feel compelled to grow these things, although I have never tasted one...

Has anyone grown out the chiltepins from www.nativeseeds.org? They actually have 2 different varieties, one from South Texas, and one from Central Texas...

This is my first year growing chiltepins. The seeds came from the Chile Pepper Institute. As I expected, they were pretty slow to germinate, but now I have 5 healthy-looking little plants in 5" pots. As soon as I am able I plan to put them in those whisky half-barrels, to let them grow as large as they want to. The trunks on all of them seem a little spindly, however, for plants that can allegedly grow to over 6 feet tall. Anyone here got much experience with these peppers? I read the other post about the "nurse" trees...Do they really need that much shade?

Would appreciate your thoughts. I love really hot chiles (just ate a Red Habanero at lunch), and I was born in South Texas, so I feel compelled to grow these things, although I have never tasted one...

Has anyone grown out the chiltepins from www.nativeseeds.org? They actually have 2 different varieties, one from South Texas, and one from Central Texas...