• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Eric's 2011 1st Time Grow Journal

Well as the title says this is my first attempt at growing peppers, I have decided to use the Baggie/Coffee filter method to start the seeds and it just so happens we have a two tier gas oven that keeps the perfect 85 degree temp in the bottom oven "We Never Use either oven" so I am double checking the temps now and I think the cost of my germinate is free :D so that's a bonus.

I am attempting to start
White Habanero Pepper 20 seeds
RED SAVINA Habanero 5 seeds
Caribbean Habanero 50 seeds
Red Habanero 5 seeds
Chocolate Habanero 25 seeds
Bhut Jolokia 30 Seeds
Jalapeño 25 seeds for fun as they are just run of the mill Lowes seeds.

Been an hour and the temp is 85.3 so it looks like I'm going to toss the jalapeño seeds in and post pics after a bit. this won't be an exciting journal but it will give me something to look back on as a reference while getting advice along the way.

are you prepared to pour the light to them once they "hook"? If not, you better get ready...

Here's the jalapeños and the chocolate habaneros, you can see I piled the jalapenos in but if you look at the chocolate habs there far less in a filter.

DSC01211.jpg

DSC01212.jpg

DSC01213.jpg

DSC01216.jpg

More pics later, I did manage to get the temp in the oven 84.6 top and bottom, it's up to the seeds now as the conditions are prime.

I do have lights ready to go I'm a long time reefer and even a mod on one of the larger forums so I'm not stranger to lighting although my I will have to get 35k-65k bulbs, I'm probably going to use T5s or go with a halide on a mover but I have a weeks to decided :D

Sounds like you have a good plan. Hopefully you have enough season to get some nice pods this year. Im not sure where you are located.