• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

smoking First Try Smoking Ribs

Well, this is my very first attempt at smoking up some pork ribs. I inherited a smoker from my grandpa a little before he passed away, but this is the first time I've ever even considered taking it out and using it. It's not your usual smoker either. Grandpa, being the guy he was, felt the need to modify it. It's now a propane smoker with burner, pot, and cast iron pan. I had a bit of trouble figuring out all of his gadgets, then getting it started. Now I'm trying to control the heat because of the small gusts of wind.

This is the setup:

smoker001.jpg

Modified to fit the propane burner and iron pan:

smoker003.jpg

Smoking pot with chips then wrapped in tinfoil. The tinfoil wrap is my modification because I had chips where grandpa would use a small log. It's mainly because I needed something to hold the chips in the can while I was putting it on the burner. I left a small opening at the top of the tinfoil wrap to let the smoke out. I put in 1 cup of Hickory chips that were smoked for about an hour. I don't have many options for smoking wood around here. It was either hickory or mesquite. The ol' lady said hickory so that's what I got.

smoker002.jpg

I got everything prepped by 11:30 or so, and put the ribs and tray of water in the smoker about 12 pm. Here are the ribs with a jerk rub

smoker004.jpg