• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

storage Freezing Then Dehydrating

Ok So Sense Im The Only One who Really eats Super Hots in My House My Plants are producing a few More than I can Consume, I Freeze Some of them but I know they Loose there texture after, I was thinking What if I Freeze them and Wait till I get a Dehydrator, will the peppers not mess up or anything after they are Frozen, and can I send Frozen Pods to People without them Rotting?

With the cell damage caused by freezing, I wouldn't ship unless you can keep them frozen. As far as drying, I'm told it works out fine, but this is my first year and I haven't tried it myself yet. In the meantime keep an eye out for yardsales. A lot of people who buy dehydrators like the idea but lack the patience after their first batch of jerky. I got a $70 nesco for five bucks that still had the paperwork and the box.

Ya i wouldnt send frozen pods to peole unless you are shipping htem thermoregulated with dry ice or in a special shipping truck or something cuz they will open a box of potentially rotten mush lol..
You should be able to dehydrate them fine tho. I dont see why not.

Theres another way.to send frozen pods but its expensive to do it... Send em with 5lbs of dry ice in a box suited for shipping dry ice...We do it all the time using FedEx as our shipper... Not sure of the current pricing of shipping a box with dry ice in it, its do able

Well ama send some pods in a while just wondering if I can send them that way I dont wait till i get fresh pods from each plant to send em, ill just wait then, and then I will Freeze all the pods I dont eat, so many that go to waste, well no more, and Do you guys Just put the pods in the freezer or should I put them in some special bag or topper wear.