• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Growing hot peppers in an Aerogarden

Always being fascinated by "tv Shop" equipment I bought a classic 7 pod Aerogareden and set it up in my office at work.
Got a mastergarden kit to plant the seeds, and liquid nutrients. I have never used a hydro based system before, always grown directly in soil, and I must say that the growth I´m getting at the moment is some what amazing.
Only problem now is that the plants are getting too big quickly. Will transplant them to a "ChilliGrow" setup in some weeks.

What I have growing is
7 pod yellowh
morounga red
morounga yellow
Trinidad Scorpio
Trinidad Scorpio Butch T (Just sprouted)
Naga Morich
Naga Viper(Just planted, the one in the hood)

Seeds germinated in wet paper.

1 day
1f420111103046337.jpg

1 week
db4201111041878f4.jpg

2 weeks
e64201111050991fc.jpg

We have one of the "deluxe" models - only grew some of their provided seeds (basil, parsley, chives, etc.). The cost of running it was way more than what the herbs were worth so we shut it down a couple years ago.

You have inspired me to fire it up again and throw some super hots at it.

Seems like a good way to start seedlings and pot up to soiless medium after. I keep looking at these and never click the button to buy.

Is it possible to transplant from something like the AeroGarden to soil once they get large enough or would that shock them too much??

They have the right idea about running it at the office. Consider the electricity a perk of the job. :lol:

I never thought of that. Do you think that you could actually get a plant to put off fruit in one of those things? You could basically grow in any environment (even when all you have is sand and 120 degrees outside temps...). If you can get some production I may have to pick a few up before my next trip overseas.