• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Habanero plant with two main stems

This may be a silly newbie question, but a few days ago I purchased some orange habanero plants at a local nursery in a four pack. Two of the plants appear to have 2 main stems. I assume these are actually two separate plants and that they planted two seeds in that compartment and they both germinated and they didn't cull one of them? AFAIK chile plants just have one main stem, but this is my first year growing chile plants...

If these are two separate plants, what should I do? I would assume their roots are probably far too entangled to be separated...should I let them go, cull one of them, try to separate them? They're going in 5 gallon buckets.

Sorry if this is a dumb question. :oops:

^ I would say that's entirely up to you. This is a much discussed subject with as many opinions as members expressing them. Separate, cull, or plant together; they all work. Cheers.

The safest way is cut off the weak one, OK with that said I would try to separate them (extra plants) I do it under the Faust on low to help seprate the roots, plant them as quick as possible. works for me and don't care if dosen't work for everyone( IT"S MY WAY)

I searched again and found a few threads this time and you're right, opinion seems to be all over the place on this one. It seems about 1:1:1 for all three options. :lol:

They're about 6-8 inches tall in probably less than 2 cubic inches of potting mix, so separating the roots would be tough. For people who have done this, how much were the plants stunted? At this point in the season I'm afraid to do something which could set them back enough to prevent a good harvest.

I don't have anything bigger than 5 gallon buckets, would 2 plants be ok in one of these?