• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Hardening plants

Ok I have a dumb/stupid question.You all know I am a newb at growing so here goes... Today was bright and sunny 68 degrees so I took my plants outside for a few hours(I have done this every warm sunny day). Each time I have the plants looked wilty and not as green but after I bring them back in about an hour later back to normal.Is this common and part of the "Hardening off" process. All tips and info would be great
Thanks again
Tom

My Trinidad Scorpion and Tobago Seasoning flopped afer 15 minutes in the sun last weekend so I did everything a little more gradual and they are OK in a full day of sun now.

Call me paranoid but I take at least two weeks to harden of my plants. The first week I start of with only morning sun with the first day they get one hour of sun then by the 7th day they are in the sun till noon. Then the second week I slowly introduce them to the hotter afternoon sun and then I let them stay out for the full day only after two weeks. I also monitor them and any sign of distress I will take it slower. I only do it that way because I lost 300 plants 3 years ago now I go nice and slow and have not lost a one in two years. Now of course this only works because I work at home there for I can be that strict with the plants. So I guess I am really no help sorry.

I start bringing plants out on cloudy days to get them used to the wind and being outdoors then slowly expose them to sun. An area with filtered light(not just shade) is usually perfect

I put mine out for the first 3 or 4 days behind a shadow box fence so the sun only hits them for 5 mins. at a time as the sun moves overhead the pattern of sun hits all the plants at different times. I would have to agree with POTAWIE though just bringing them outside is starting the hardening off process they don't have to get any sun right away.

Dale