• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Hot Sauce question

I have been making a hot sauce for about 4 years and the people that order it love it on their eggs, chicken wings, burgers etc. However, I have been told by a few people, that seem to have more knoweledge than I do on hot sauces, that it is missing something that would make the sauce great and be marketable. I have taken their advice and have tried numerous fruits that may help. It is a roasted pepper sauce with fresh roasted tomatoes. I have tried strawberries but they were to sweet; raspberries but to bitter; black berries and blueberries but they were just awful; even kiwis and appricots but they did nothing for the flavor and really mellowed out the heat. I even tried to mix the raspberry and strawberry together and it went ok, but not great. I use Apple Cider vinegar to lower ph and still give it a little flavor. I tried mandarines and it worked alright but i was still told that it needed more flavor. Organes are to sweet also. If anyone has an idea of an ingredient that I have not mentioned that wouldn't over power the roasted flavor of the sauce that would be great. Thanks,
Aaron

If you want a fruity taste maybe pears,apple and figs. Wouldn't hurt to even try a small amount of puree'd prune for depth.

Or a large amount of fresh herb's with a soft taste like apple or pear?

Have you ever tried dragon fruit? Not something that would be commercially viable but it sounds like your keen on the fruit theme.

I'd try a reduction of caramelized onion and mushrooms, artichoke hearts, flat leaf parsley, roasted tomato and roasted peppers. That's if its a breakfast sauce for eggs. yuuum

Have you tired roasted onions and garlic to add some depth to the peppers and tomatoes? Do you think it needs salt? Try red wine vinegar in this also, instead of ACV. ACV is my least favorite for hot sauce.