• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

I got sproutage!

So, this is my first time growing peppers. I got my first sprouts 2 days ago. I checked my germination box to find some seedlings. Today there is 11 total coming up to count. I was afriad that I wasn't going to be successful because of temperature.

Quick question.... I put about 2-3 seeds per peat pellet thing and I was wondering if I HAVE to kill a seedling off or if it's OK to grow two off the same thing... Killing off pepper plants is not cool! lol

Also I don't have any grow lights, so I have to go with natural light. I know these babies wont fruit this year as I started way too late, but that's ok I can wait til next year. I might be buying some plants off of a local grower.

Whether your babies will fruit this year or not will depend upon a number of factors, but the most important is not when you started them, as if you started annuums, you will very likely get pods. You will likely get pods from any other variety, too, but the bigger question is whether they will ripen.

Keeping multiples in a single peat pellet isn't a really good thing. However, some people try to salvage the others by gently removing the "extras" and moving them to their own peat pellets.

If you're in SoCal, you should have days that are sunny and warm enough to start putting them outside now-ish. Make sure the temp is 50F or above, and be sure to harden them off first.

you may find that adequate soil, light, and water

will result in peppers actually occurring

if you are south of weed, ca there is a strong chance that even you can help this

happen, the little plants only know how to do one thing :lol: