• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds i started seeds to check germination

i started several fatalli and long red slim cayenne seeds 9 days ago just to test the germination of the seeds and to see if i could get them to germinate. at the time it was 77 to 80 degrees in the house but over the past 4-5 days it's dropped to 63 to 70 at the most and later this week it's going to the lower 40's and 30's at night making it cooler in here. i see nothing happening so far. i have a lot of experience starting seeds of all different vegetable except for peppers. i also know that 9 days is not long enough to give up but since it is so cool in here i think these seeds won't germinate.

i figured since i heat the house with a woodstove and since in late jan and early feb it is usually 75-80 in here i could start my pepper seeds without using a heat mat or any other heat source under the containers. if need be i can move them closer to the woodstove for more heat or place them in a south window for sun if i let the stove burn lower and the temp dropped to say 70 in here.

is this reasonable or am i kidding myself? it seem reasonable that with the stove keeping the air temp in the mid to upper 70's and moving the containers closer to the stove if the air temp is not hot enough, that i can keep the containers as warm as if they had bottom heat. once germinated i think (all the times i use think substitute assume!) that again between air temps and closer to the stove i can keep them warm enough to keep them growing. if need be i can place them very close to the woodstove, no kids or dogs to up end anything just me and i'm careful.