• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

annuum Looking for RED JALAPENOS!

Red, ripe jalapenos are usually kept as the growers personal stash XD 

Personally, I have a hard time even being patient enough to let them ripen... since we use the hell out of jalapenos.

Thats why this season I planted 62 jalapeno seeds... (Im counting fresnos as a jalapeno variety... someone correct me if that is a stretch [first time growing them]). 

Noah Yates said:

Personally, I have a hard time even being patient enough to let them ripen... since we use the hell out of jalapenos.

Thats why this season I planted 62 jalapeno seeds... (Im counting fresnos as a jalapeno variety... someone correct me if that is a stretch [first time growing them]). 

ive never been able to get them red here in PA... oh well.

Yeah... it would probably be like calling a serrano a jalapeno (they are similar but very diff)  Its my first time growing fresnos... so im excited to try them.

so I planted 37 seeds of two varieties of jalapeno, 12 serranos, and 25 fresnos.

Noah Yates said:
Yeah... it would probably be like calling a serrano a jalapeno (they are similar but very diff)  Its my first time growing fresnos... so im excited to try them.

so I planted 37 seeds of two varieties of jalapeno, 12 serranos, and 25 fresnos.

Nice. That is a lot. I thought my 11 'peno plants were a lot. You'll have buckets and buckets full.

the jalapeno varieties are park's hot jalapeno and pepper joe's jalapeno.... I planted 25 of park's and 12 of pepper joe's...

however, i dont expect to have many of pepper joe's jalapeno, because last year i had 0/6 germinate from the same pack of seeds.

Love red jalapenos. Good luck getting your hands on some. 

Noah Yates said:

I hear you. I ran out of dried red jalapenos way too early 2013/2014 :( . I'm growing 3 varieties this season.