• This is the place to discuss all spicy commerical products, not just sauce!

Mould after 3 months

I hope this is the correct forum.

With a sauce made by Heinz or Tabasco you would normally expect it to keep for months, even if non refrigerated . I have a bottle of sauce made by a small, though non-hobby producer that has gone moldy after 3 months stored on a shelf.

I would like to know if this is a normal occurance with foods without any additives, or is it down to bad bottling/production?

IMG_5816.jpg

A sauce without any preservatives or additives will do that if not refrigerated, I'm suprised it took 3 months really. I would have imagined it would mold before that if not stored in the fridge.. I'm no professional but I do know that preservative-free sauces at my work will do that in a month or 2s time.

Brandon

That's interesting. I don't store my sauces in the fridge, as I find the flavors are much more apparent at room temperature, and I have many all natural sauces, with no preservatives. My Heartbreaking Dawn's sauces come to mind.

Depends on how much vinegar/citrus/etc. is in the sauce. Not much will grow if there's a lot of acid. If something acidic isn't one of the top 3 ingredients, I'd keep it in the fridge.

I have "refrigerate after opening" on LDHS, but I've had bottles out for ~6 months after opening before they turned - and even then they didn't mold. Just turned kinda gray. That was a deliberate test though & I would not recommend it simply as I don't know the environment of your house.

I have had bottles open in the fridge last longer than that.

I agree that Hot sauces taste better at room temperature though - which is why I generally leave them out for a while prior to dinner. It gets in the 90s-100s here though so I keep all my sauces in the fridge.

And no, I would not eat that sauce pictured above - it's what, $3-$5 worth of sauce? You would pay more than that & gladly to not experience food poisoning.

Good luck.