• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

My Bhut Jolokia plant....or is it?

This is my first year growing hot peppers and I found this at a local nursery. Does this look like a true bhut jolokia?

Jolokia.jpg

I also noticed in the picture that the leaf on the bottom has curled edges. What would this be a sign of?

Pot.jpg

It's actually in the biggest pot I have. As you may have seen in my other thread, I'm searching for pots now :)

Pot size definitely looks big enough. Looking at them it seems like overwatering due to the yellowing on the lowest leaves.

That could be it. We've had a large amount of rain the last week. I actually posted about maybe getting to much rain a couple days ago. I'll just give it a few days and see how the plant looks.

Oh and thank you all for your input. I love this place. Everyone is so helpful and I'm a newbie and need it :)

Can't say if its a Bhut Julokia but it definitely has a mean aura about it.
By the look of the fruit I guess you'll have to wait about 30 to 60 days for it to mature and find out if its true.
Grab a beer and wait... :)

Bleash

Lol yep he looks all wrinkled up like he's mad at the world already and wants to unleash his fiery wrath. Of course I could be wrong and he may just be a pepperoncini with stretch marks or something lol....time will tell.

:dance: When its ready, slice it up put it on your pizza, and im sure you will find out if it is a wrinkly pepperonchini or a bhut! Make sure film is going cause that pepper indeed looks like its trouble!

time will tell. certainly looks like a pod of indian origin. lol.

we'll know when it's ripe. and when your tongue starts to melt off of your mouth. :mouthonfire:

when it does, have a brew. better yet a gallon of milk.
:beer:

:eek: