• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

My First Post as New Member

This forum has taught me why some of my observations and experiments worked or failed, and taught me things I really needed to succeed.

So I joined. Thanks guys!

I live in Southern California.

As a total newbie I bought Chili plants from Target last year and put them into Self-Watering containers - Cayenne and Thai Dragon - so I could use organic for my salsa.

At the end of the season, they had no heat, so I threw them into a trash bag in the fall and never got around to throwing them out. Not only did they not die, the seemed to get stronger, so, I planted them in the ground, hoping Sun and soil would do their magic. (My first lesson in Wintering, btw.)

Nope. I stressed them this summer, and can pick one off the vine and barely get heat from most. The smaller one seems to pack more power tho. Hmmm.

So mid-season I bought seeds for Habanero from various sources, after reading, "grow the hottest you can find." Sounded reasonable.

Then I discovered Bhuts, so a bought 2 plants; they arrived thin, but had 5 nice pods, and lots of buds. I thought I would have lots of chilies.

Nope.

All the flowers dropped, until I finally bought some BudSwel organic Phosphate. Boom, now I'm getting pods :-)

In early May I planted Red Hab from rareseeds.com, directly in the potting soil in my self-watering container outside. Red Habs seem to sprout quickly. They are now my best plants, and after 2.5 months, the best of the lot have split and are budding. I write this July 31; heat is coming, as August/September tend to be the hottest months. Decent growing Heat can last into November here.