• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

pics My TOP TIIPS I learnt from my first grow season (pics included)

Hi everyone,

First of all I would like to say I am no expert, this is just here purely to help out a few inexperienced people out there, like myself :)

I would like to share some tips I learnt during my first grow. Hopefully they can help you on your way to success. I have many ideas for my new grow season which is about to begin.

These tips are in no particular order.

TIP 1: Soil, watering and fertilisers

I used a mix of the following:
80% potting mix with slow release fertilisers.
10% perlite
10% vermiculite

This is a simple mix, but it worked well for me. However, this season I am considering dumping the vermiculite and using more perlite.

I mulched with woodchips which worked well, however, this season I may use pine needles (hoping it will be hard for slugs ans snails to pass over).

I watered only when needed, careful not to overwater. Once the seedling were 6 inches tall I watered with seasweed solution every two weeks for extra nitrogen. Then once the buds were about I watered with half strength tomato feed every two weeks for extra potassium.

TIP 2: GROW YELLOW 7 POTS!

Cant speak highly enough of this plant. The most delicious chilli I have tried and it packs plenty of heat. Here are some of mine from the season:

P1000554.jpg

photo.jpg

TIP 3: Damn snails and slugs.

I attempted to grow not only in pots (which were successful) but also in the ground (very unsuccessful).

bed.jpg