• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Naga/Jolokia, hard as it sounds?

I'm trying to figure out whether or not to attempt to grow some superhots from seeds, and all the info I'm reading on various websites make these two seem particularly daunting.

Is it as hard as it's made out to be?

I live in Pennsylvania if that's any help.
Also, I've been growing peppers for three years and tomatos for over a dozen, but I've not had all that much experience growing from seeds, mostly go with baby plants from nurseries.

To me they're no harder than other types. I recommend bottom heat of 85-90 degrees to germinate and starting them very early if you want a nice crop to ripen. :) Our last frost is usually 5/20 to 6/1. I start them as early as mid-Jan to early February. It works well.

Chris

As as first time pepper grower i acheived 100% germination from Dorset Naga seeds (thanks THSC). I say grow for it!! :)
Oh and i didn't even use a heat pad, just my shed bench and filtered sunlight through some venition blinds. I have shown this pic in another thread but i like it so i'll show you too, it's my biggest Naga seedling at 3 weeks old.
Seedlings008.jpg

It was the other seedlings (Asain Birds Eyes, Medusa, Aji Lemon) that took the longest to germinate, i am still waiting on the Red Savinas'...

Edit:Spleing

Skydiver said:
Nova, what's the average temp there when you're germinating?

Well in my Garage where i germinated the temperature probly varies between 10-35 degrees celcius, it is at around 25-30 celcius during the day with the doors and window shut up and during the night it can drop really low (maybe below 10) but the soil holds a lot of heat until the next day. The average outside temp during the day is around 23 celcius lately i think.