• Politics are not permitted. There's plenty of places to discuss that elsewhere, and a hot pepper forum is not the place. Thank you for respecting the community!

New Orleans and back

I just got back from New Orleans last night! We spent about 5 days down there and had a blast. I also managed to pick up some local spicy products.

I have a lot of thoughts about the experience. My overall feeling is that NOLA is coming back but slowly and it's been very hard on the people who live there. There a certain sad resignation in almost everyone we talked to but also a deep sense of pride in the city they love. Katrina was a defining moment whose after effects are going to be felt for a long, long time.

Anyway, we ate some great food, made some new friends, visited old friends, heard some awesome music and generally had a lot of fun. Sure, you gotta watch your ass down there and use some common sense to stay safe, but it was that way for a long time before Katrina.

If you're thinking about going but a little worried, I say go, spend money and enjoy one of the most unique cities in America.

Had a friend that went down to work with FEMA to set up campers. Lots of pictures and very sad sense about the outskirts. He had been to the city and said virtually the same thing. I think that when everything is back it will be a much better place. It some sense it really needed a cleaning not the way it had been done however but repaired and cleaned and better levee's -- Fun place indeed --
Hurricanes are much better in a glass ;)

Hot stuff from NOLA!

img0201gg4.jpg

I guess they some people decided to start profitting off of Katrina...but I guess I can't complain, the cajun restaurant has hurricanes (the alcoholic drink) rated by famous NO hurricanes, and the "Katrina" was available 6 days after it hit.