• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

New Pepper Plants - Not super happy?

Hi folks! This is my first post. Thanks for providing this helpful place :)

I am new to the pepper hobby, although I have done a great deal of general vegetable gardening in the past with great success, always organic with no fertilizer or pesticides, and using drip irrigation.

I now have seven new small plants that I got maybe 6 weeks ago from Jim at SuperHotChiles.com (local in San Diego for me). Great guy. They are on a south-facing balcony that gets plenty of sun.

Some of them aren't looking too happy, and I'm not sure why. They have no visible pests. At one point I thought I was overwatering, so I cut back, and they seemed to get greener. Then 2 days ago I was leaving for a day trip and checked the soil - slightly moist, so I let them be for 1.5 days - I come back and they are yellowish. I gave them some water yesterday, and now they are "okay". See for yourself:

First 5 plants:
07bb2518f56506e2e822083a7bb504c4.jpg

3 on left of first pic: giant white hab, white bhut, and d'espelleta:
2bd60c0d2fbdbcdfb58cd7229afd3b94.jpg

2 on right - sugar rush cream, Peter pepper:
70d28710a65ee2265fd677a6f12c4f35.jpg

Two more plants - "Big Bang," and White Hab:
402a88ba171edb4e55f05560bf8991ec.jpg

I feel like because I'm paying attention to them and worrying about them, they are doing worse XD I know the first two in the first pic are ready to be repotted; I can see roots in the bottom. However, the others are not root-bound. I have not been feeding them any fertilizer, although everyone seems to recommend it. I topped the d'espelleta, and it hasn't grown back with fervor yet. A lot of the leaves just seem unenthusiastic. I've wondered if I just dont know how to hand water, as I am accustomed to drip - although ive been growing other plants for over a year at this location with no such issues.