• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

fermenting New to fermenting

I'm new to fermenting and was looking for some advice on salt water brine v. just using salt

I looked at a bunch of threads on here and I see the ferment being done both ways. I don't have long -unfortunately - to let this trial batch sit (probably only 2 weeks) so i was looking to start with a mash. 

I'm not big on added starters so it was simply going to be just the peppers, onions, garlic, etc. I see people mixing their mash with only salt and others using the salt water brine. Was wondering if there was any benefit to using either method, especially given the time constraint. 

I'd skip the water. The only thing I use it for is consistency. Mash will likely be too thick without it but you can always thin it out after the ferment. You might get faster results without the water as well, but use less salt. I will let the pros here give their opinions though.

Redeemer said:
I'd skip the water. The only thing I use it for is consistency. Mash will likely be too thick without it but you can always thin it out after the ferment. You might get faster results without the water as well, but use less salt. I will let the pros here give their opinions though.
Thanks for the reply. I figured the salt alone would generate it's own brine from the peppers but wasn't sure if the added water would help given the time constraint or slow down the process (or if it didn't matter either way, lol!)