• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Newbie Germination Question

My wife brought home a sickly WalMart habanero plant about eight weeks ago... now the plant looks great and has about 50 or so pods on it thanks to bone meal and epsom salt and attention...

now, it also has eight different pepper plants next to it to keep it company... all looking good...

so i'm getting cocky...

and i decided to buy some datil seeds on ebay to try and germinate them...

have a pot covered in saran wrap sitting on top of my internet router (hey, it throws off heat)...

anyway, i figure i have a 10% chance that i'll get any sprouts as i'm basically a dumb ass newb...

BUT, my bigger fear is that they do sprout as I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO NEXT...

so far i've figured out that i should remove the saran wrap and get em under a flourescent...

what advice do y'all have for me (be kind).

I started off reading a lot before I planted my seeds. Although you can do it your way I opted to go with several guys suggestions here and I got a jiffy 75 with heat mat and dome. Yeah I had to shell out around $35.00 or so for the setup, but in less than a week I had over 150 sprouts all growing fast. The biggest mistake I made was planting 3 seeds per peat puck and getting way too many plants to know what to do with. I suggest going that route where your almost guaranteed success. I'm a first year grower so I wanted to keep it simple stupid.

yup...as soon as they sprout, pour the light to them...if you don't they will become leggy (long, weak stemmed) because they are reaching for the light...

a gentle breeze made by a small fan is also good for strengthening the stems (think of it as exercise)...I run a fan on mine 30 minutes twice a day...