• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

newbie here, would appreciate help

Ok, last year was my first time growing peppers outdoors and I had some pretty good success. Now I want to start from seed indoors but I have a few questions. First, for the heat source, should I buy a grow mat? I have heard that they do not supply enough heat for hot peppers? Or should I try a waterbed heater, I have one available? Second is the light source, would a shop light with 2 ge bulbs recomended for indoor plant use be sufficent? Third about the soil mixture, would miracle grow cactus blend be a good choice or should I go with something else. Sorry for the length and the questions but any help would be appreciated. I have some seeds on the way and need to get everything ready.

1. Either the seed starting mat or the water bed heater should work just fine. I use seed starting mats, but some of the others here use the water bed heaters.

2. I use shop lights with regular fluorescent bulbs. You don't need the expensive grow lights.

3. I discourage people from using Miracle Grow soil mixes because they are usually high nitrogen. It looks like the cactus mix is .12-.04-.08, which is better than most Miracle Grow products, but the nitrogen is still high in comparison to the phosphorus and potassium. I prefer to use a fertilizer free seed starting mix and manage my own fertilizing as I see fit.

Hm, a little poking around shows:

MIRACLE-GRO ENRICHED AFRICAN VIOLET POTTING MIX .1-.1-.12

And: MIRACLE-GRO SEED STARTER POTTING MIX .05-.01-.05

both of which have a better NPK balance for starting seeds, IMNSHO. So, if I were to use Miracle Grow potting soil products, that's the way I would go.

Thank you pam, what kind of soil would you recommend? I am totally new at this and I only have a home depot and a lowes here, could I purchase it at one of them? Sorry for the stupid questions

sdw,