• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Newbie Questions

This is my first try at growing peppers and I have a lot of questions and concerns. I posted the details in the welcome section but will copy and paste below.

The peppers I am attempting to grow from seeds are Bhut Jolokia, Red Savina Habanero, Chocolate Habanero, White Habenaro, Caribbean Habanero, and Thai Birds Eye peppers.

Here is my plan and schedule, feel free to offer suggestions if anything looks off or could be done better/differently.
I have been doing a fair amount of reading and looks like the seeds can all be started the same way, the plan is moist soil in a tray "separate for each species" kept at keep at 85 degrees with a heat mat till I get sprouts "I'm hoping this will happen early May" then I will transplant them into little pots with grow lights "4ft T5s" indoors until June, at this point I will start taking them outdoors a few hours at a time until they are out 24/7 aiming for June 15th or 20th to have them outdoors for the remainder of the season.

OK so my first question is about soil, I see the sticky and read a few other post and it seems I need to find the right mix for my location so I'm taking suggestions on that, there's a lot to consider there and so many options I am overwhelmed at the moment.

Another concern I have are my peppers cross pollinating, I plan to seperate the Bhut pepper plants but the rest will be within feet of one another is this going to cause me problems down the road or am I just over thinking this? For the most part the Habaneros should be ok I assume but will my chocolates mix with the whites ect and I'll just have a bastard pepper on my hands come the second season? I could just order fresh seeds next year but I would like to use my own if possible.