• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Newbie Sauce

This is my second year attempting to make sauce. First year I made nothing worth repeating, nothing bad just not great. However thanks to all the information you guys provide on this forum and downright copying, I think I am starting to make some progress. Small batches are the norm until I get something perfected. Here is tonight’s concoction:
Started with 3 Yellow 7 Pots, 3 Fataliis, and 3 Bhut Jolokias. I didn’t know if the red pepper would blend well with the yellows but what the heck, I have no experience and it’s probably going to be too hot for me to taste anyway! Not pictured is a little vinegar and sugar.
SMHS1003.jpg

Cooking it up outside so I don’t upset the family!
SMHS1005.jpg

About 15 minutes and everything is getting pretty soft except for the pineapple.
SMHS1007.jpg

In the blender, at which time I added a little honey, sugar, lime juice and vinegar.
SMHS1009.jpg

Low simmer for another 20 minutes and time for a taste. Wow it’s really hot but not as bad as I was expecting! I can’t say that either the mango or pineapple is dominating. Pretty sweet but that’s what I was shooting for. Had a pretty strong vinegar smell while cooking but I cant say I detect it in the taste. This turned out better than I was expecting.
SMHS1011.jpg

Time for a 10 minute bath.
HS1012.jpg