• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Newbie Seed Starter with Questions

Hi, I am new to this message board and this is my first post. I plan on seeding some hot peppers indoors this year for my first time. I'm about ready to get going, though I am very nervous about it.

First of all, would you recommend soaking the seeds before planting in dirt? I've seen it suggested to soak them in peroxide and water and even bleach. Then I've also seen it suggested NOT to do this, so I'm torn. The soaking is supposed to break down the outsides of the seed so that it germinates faster. The biggest problem with this is that hot pepper seeds are so tiny, how could you possibly do this without creating a big mess, and is it really worth it for a first timer to do such a thing? The directions on the seed packet certainly don't say anything about soaking.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks is advance,

scobolt

Hey bro and welcome to the the most non-wankiest forum on the webz.

In my opinion soaking is a pain in the a$$ and also a waste of time. Give them correct temps and half good dirt and you are set!

Thanks, Nova. After reading a few other threads it seems that some people like to soak them and some people don't. I might try soaking just a few as an experiment.

I do have another question though... Is it bad to smoke in the same small room where you've got germination and seedlings going on? I have a feeling that it is. Can anyone help me on this one?

I've tried it both ways and I think you will just be wasting your time by pre-soaking seeds.

Yes, it is bad to smoke around pepper plants because they are susceptible to Tobacco Mosiac Virus. I'd even suggest washing your hands before you touch them.

Alan

Hola, Scobolt, and welcome! :)