• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Pepper Maggots

Anyone here ever experienced pepper maggots. My sister got them this year and we had to tear out all her pepper plants. Now worried about next year if any got into the ground. Is there a way to prep the soil to make sure the pupae or whatever they are called won't survive if they are there?

Josh said:
Anyone here ever experienced pepper maggots. My sister got them this year and we had to tear out all her pepper plants. Now worried about next year if any got into the ground. Is there a way to prep the soil to make sure the pupae or whatever they are called won't survive if they are there?

hi there, i am by no means an expert but i use big planters...they are great in case you have to move them around... too much rain / sun / whatever... just a little something something from a new grower...;)

I am sterilizing the soil in the microwave and pour birdsand on it to prevent nasties from creeping in. Not sure if it'll keep maggots away, but I never had any so far.

All I know about Pepper maggots to control them is to remove any infected rotting fruit straight away as it attracts more of the egg-laying flies. For the soil I'd go by what Chiliac said, microwave it, or just buy a fresh stuff and hope you'll be OK.

Chiliac said:
I am sterilizing the soil in the microwave and pour birdsand on it to prevent nasties from creeping in. Not sure if it'll keep maggots away, but I never had any so far.
I have to let my sister and her husband know thanks.

rainbowberry said:
All I know about Pepper maggots to control them is to remove any infected rotting fruit straight away as it attracts more of the egg-laying flies. For the soil I'd go by what Chiliac said, microwave it, or just buy a fresh stuff and hope you'll be OK.