• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Question about growing in the NorthEast USA

Hi,

I am just curious about the best times to start plants in the Northeast. I live up in Massachusetts and I am new to growing hot peppers.

The more I learn the more I am interested in maybe trying to grow some of these exotic varieties so many people here do.

So I guess my main question is when is the best time period to start plants up here? If I plan to keep my plants potted does it really matter? Can I just bring them inside when it start to get cold?

thanks.

The best time to start pepper plants for you is probably early to mid-March. I'm guessing you're in zone 6. Pepper transplants do best if you start them 10-12 weeks early. In some cases of super long season C. Chinense or wild varieties, I recommend starting early February. No earlier than that though as I learned the hard way this year. Unless you've got MAJOR lighting to handle larger plants and a lot of time, starting them early can be bad.

Good luck. It's a fun hobby. :)

Chris

JJBagoose said:
Hi,

I am just curious about the best times to start plants in the Northeast. I live up in Massachusetts and I am new to growing hot peppers.

The more I learn the more I am interested in maybe trying to grow some of these exotic varieties so many people here do.

So I guess my main question is when is the best time period to start plants up here? If I plan to keep my plants potted does it really matter? Can I just bring them inside when it start to get cold?

thanks.

JJB,

This is my first year, so I don't have a lot of experience - but I will say this:

If you are growing peppers with a super-long growing season (like Bhut's, Naga's, etc), then you'll want to start them in mid-late January.

I started my Bhuts Feb 14th, and they're barely bigger than a quarter. I could have started them about a month before that.