• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Question for the proficient

I've been making fermented sauce for several years now, whip it up in the blender, strain and bottle. This year I tried xanthan gum for the first time and it works well to keep the sauce from separating and if I get heavy handed as a thickener.. I also tried something new this year, I dehydrated the mash left in the strainer and then ground it.......

Here's my question;

Has anyone ever mixed the ground-n-dried mash into their sauce?

What affect does it have, ie; pH, Will it still separate without xanthan gum, does the taste vary quite a bit?   

Any advice would be appreciated.

I've got a couple quart jars of powdered pepper mash and more ferments ready to process...

I've done something similar... ish. I more fermented powders themselves; it was cayenne and red-pepper flake. Worked out just fine. I'd imagine you'll still need that xanthan gum. I know I did. Perhaps more than you anticipate; after a while it seems to be separating in my experience. pH came out fine.

My specific ferment came out tasting sort of sweet and fruity, which was odd.

Reactions: Tod
Pharthan said:
I've done something similar... ish. I more fermented powders themselves; it was cayenne and red-pepper flake. Worked out just fine. I'd imagine you'll still need that xanthan gum. I know I did. Perhaps more than you anticipate; after a while it seems to be separating in my experience. pH came out fine.

My specific ferment came out tasting sort of sweet and fruity, which was odd.

Thanks!

I wonder about the mash I'm planning to use since it was fermented once..

I'm going to try a few bottles and see..

I'm not sure why you would want to mix back in the dehydrated 'tailings',  maybe to thicken it back up???

What a lot of folks do is-