• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Questions about my Habaneros

Hello all, my first post here... Anyway, I am a bit new to growing Chili Peppers, and I have about 12 plants/pots currently, two of them are Orange Habaneros the rest are Caribbean Red Habaneros.

I Germinated them in a homemade incubator which was at about 95'F for 14 hours a day between moist napkins, needless to say after a few weeks they exploded with growth in the incubator. Which I then put into small white yogurt containers (easy to get them out of), and when they were about 3 - 4 inches tall I put them in larger blue transparent plastic cups (again easy to get them out)...

I would put in larger containers when the roots would fill the cups/container and form a solid mass.

They seemed to do quite well in the yogurt containers inside a home-made light box consisting of 4 - 26 Watt CFLs (100 Watt Eq.) on a 14 and 1/2 hour timer. (Early on I would only have two of the CFLs on at a time).

The only problem I had was some of the leaves would curl up around the edges. I started spraying them with distiled water mist to keep the humidity up, since it's still pretty dry up here in Upstate New York as of May - April.

Why do they curl up like this? Also sometimes later in the day the leaves would droop down, as if avoiding the light? (Not soft like when they need water, nice and crisp but bending downward) they would come right back up the next moring maybe even better looking than before... Why do they do this?