• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Sage Guidance Needed in how to Grow Bhut Jolokia Peppers

Over the past weekend while I was in Albuquerque for the NFFS, my Bhut Jolokia seeds arrived. I'm a bit concerned that I'm past the starting point for the growing season. And candidly this is the first time I've ever attempted to grow anything.

So with that said I could really use your help in how best to pull this little growing feat off. I've considered going with hydroponics, as it seems like a good method for my area. Plus I have virtually no room in my backyard.

If you have links that could aid in my quest those would be much appreciated as well.

I'm a damn gardening newbie...any help would be most appreciated!

Being in Texas, your grow season should be longer than most of us in the US. I would say plant them, Keeping the soil 75 or above will help with germination, a seedling heat mat helps. If you are worried about frost later in the season, you can always grow them in 5 gallon containers so you can bring them inside at night. I have heard of people growing the same plant 3-4 years by over wintering the plant inside.

This is my first year successfully growing Bhut's, last year they died as seedlings. I cannot say from experience, but I have been told they are 150ish days to mature pods, which would put you into early october probably.

your weather down in Houston isn't that much different than mine is up here in Fort Worth with the exception of the high humitidy...I had great luck with the Bhuts/Nagas last year...got about 2 pounds a plant if I remember correctly...