• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

chinense Scorpions do not look like scorpions....?

I'm a new user & fairly new grower but avid hot pepper enthusiast. This spring i decided to grow some really hot peppers for myself, so i bought two small plants from a local but reputable nursery. I bought 2 Trinidad Scorpion plants and put them in my garden. After roughly 3 months i get a crazy abundance of beautiful peppers that are actually ridiculously hot, & I'm no newbie when it comes to eating fiery foods, lol. I am however unsure if they are actually Trinidad Scorpions though as they really don't resemble the ones i see online. I'm confused because the little information stick that came with them clearly stated Trinidad Scorpion Peppers.

peppers.jpg

Firstscorpion.jpg

They look a bit similar to Habaneros but their heat level is actually FAR BEYOND any Habanero, and are quite painful.:lol:. They all have a little nub on their bottoms, and are smooth skinned. What could i have here?

i am going to say they are more than likely a hab of some sorts! maybe a hybrid. but from my experience of looking at thousands of scorpions and those looking nothing like it.

Eric

Thats what I figured because they have smooth skin and don't have that mushroomed out tail. SO they could be Carribean Reds? Whats their heat range, typically? Like compared to regular Habaneros. I thought it tasted and looked similar to a Red Savina as well?

Definitely not Trinidad Scorpions. :( They look like some type of non-superhot red chinense. The nomenclature with non-superhot red chinenses is all screwed up and highly debated and several different pod shapes are often sold as one variety, so I hate to take a guess, but Caribbean Red is a likely suspect as usual.