• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

chinense scotch bonnet or not?

i'm not sure if i am growing scotch bonnet or something else. maybe someone could enlighten me?

i question this because at the greenhouse where i bought 1 fatalli, 1 scotch bonnet and 3 long red slim cayenne plants my 3 long red slim cayenne (which i have grown for 2 or 3 seasons) are long red thick cayenne peppers that have virtually no heat at all. the fatalli is correct. so if he mixed up the cayenne maybe he did the same with the scotch bonnets.

my scotch bonnet fruits vary from wrinkled and pointed to some being less wrinkled and flat bottomed. they are orangish/pinkish in color similar to these but much less orange with a definite pinkish color. scotch bonnet from google images

here's why i really question this. i'm not a long time fiery pepper eater, read my introduction i'm fairly new to hot peppers. i found my long red slim cayenne peppers to be very hot and since i liked them i wanted to try something really really hot. tonight i ate 3 scotch bonnets raw without the pith and seeds just the flesh with salsa and chips. the 1st 2 had a nice citrus flavor with some heat but were not that hot. now the 3rd was quite a bit hotter but not as hot as the cayenne peppers from past years. when i ate those cayenne peppers my scalp would sweat and my mouth felt a lot of heat! the scotch bonnets just burn my mouth with some heat but seem to be less hot!

are some scotch bonnets from the same plant less hot than others? is it possible to eat these peppers raw with salsa and chips and say they did not generate a lot of heat?

i'm new to this but it seems to me that scotch bonnets should be wicked hot! my fatalli plant is quite hot, wicked hot would not be exaggerating!

thanks.

A photo of your plant and pods would help. The photo from Google Images in my view is a Habanero not a Scotch Bonnet.