• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

seeds Seedlings dropping dead

Ok so this is my first year growing pretty much anything and I started some Bhut jolokia and some Trinidad scorpions in a starting tray with a heat mat. I have had about 10 sprout up and about 5 of them are now dead after about a week. The problem to me is all the reading I have done in dampening off I may have got gun shy and let them get too dry. I have them under a fluorescent light right now and spray them down with a spray bottle when I leave for work in the morning. I do this every day and by the time I get home the soil seems pretty dry. Because the flat they are in is pretty shallow I am having a hard time figuring how much water to give them. The 5 I have now, I am half tempted to try and pull them out and put in their own pots even though they only have the starter leaves. Would this be too early to do? I don't want to kill the remaining ones. I still do have about 20 waiting to sprout. I just don't wanna continue on in this fashion
having them die off.

I would recommend bottom watering. Basically take the flat, pot or whatever you have them in and set that in a shallow dish of water. How long really depends on several factors, but basically through a little trial and error you will be able to feel the difference in a properly watered tray.

When using a spray bottle I think it is easy to not water enough. Also the water you do add can evaporate more quickly before the rest of the growing medium can moisten. (If you can take a couple pictures of your soil and seedlings)

I have moved seedlings as you described before with no trouble. Is it optimal? I have no idea but you shouldn't have any problems if you are careful.