• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds seeds, plants, containers, etc

Alright so I'm new to this pepper growing stuff and have a few questions. I have had very good success with banana peppers and jalapenos the past couple of years. I have 1 orange hab. plant this year, but haven't gotten much from it. I am planning on trying a variety of different peppers next year. And was wondering the following:

1. Plants or seeds and why?

2. I have gotten a hold of a bunch of 5-gallon buckets and plan on drilling holes in the bottom. Are there any peppers that would not be good for these? Or am I safe with pretty much anything?

3. peppermania.com is good right? what about pepperjoes.com?

4. any quick tips that you can give - something you wished you knew when you started planting peppers.

I know I'll think of something else later. Thanks for any help.

PP

Welcome.

1. It depends. Starting from seed is fun but sometimes tenuoys if you are not an owner of a green thumb. Ordering pre-grown plants cuts out the trouble of strating your own.

2. You'll be fine, just be sure they get enough drainage, pepeprs don't like their feet wet.

3. Never heard of them. Ask around here for seeds, people will probably share ;)

4. Don't over water them, they like loads of sun, don't stick the peppers up your nose, wash you hands throughly after pepper use. Also, don't pee into the wind.

I am new to this place, but not to pepper growing. A friend gave me a pepper plant a couple years back and I have been hooked ever since.

Dont over water.

Starting from seeds makes it a lot of fun, but you have to be able to look at the babies and be able to tell what they need...otherwise...they droop and the game is over.

Keep em warm...

Have fun and never take it too serious.

Good luck.:mouthonfire:

First off Welcome from Fort Worth, Texas