• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

septic tank and garden

my garden is I guess what one would consider "near" what i think is the drain field ( I havent verified its location), didn't know if anyone had any thoughts or comments on this in regards to saftey or other concerns i should look into

Ah! Finally a subject I know something about:O)
I am an inspector, and frequently encounter gardens on drainfields.
Generally they are not recommended, although I've not had anyone tell me they got sick from it.
Leafy vegetables are more of a problem than fruiting vegetables, but if your drainfield is shallow you are probably pulling
up something.

Septic tank no problem.  "Near" the drainfield is fine as long as it's not blowing out.
Depending on the install depth, planting directly on the drainfield can have it's drawbacks.
Wastewater has to be disposed of in a appropriate area because it is contaminated. 
Nasty things like viruses and heavy metals can survive the trip through the septic tank.
Humans, being at the top of the food chain, tend to accumulate heavy metals.

Another potential problem is running a tiller over the field.  If it's shallow placed, you could end up doing
thousands of dollars worth of damage to the lines, even ruin the field. 
If it's deep (more than 3'), you are probably pretty safe all the way around.
Your local health department should be able to tell you exactly where and how deep it is....if it was installed legally.

called the health dept, they dont have the documents for my property :(

I know where the tank itself is as I just had it serviced recently, but the lines im unsure of. I did till the dirt and I did not hit any PVC lines, sandy sludge, or rock. My soil is all clay, its listed on my county property details as "sandy clay loam".