• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Soursop Sawse? Why Not???

salsalady

Business Member
While shopping at a grocery store a couple towns over, I saw some frozen soursop fruit pulp.  I was looking for cranberries in the freezer case, which they did not have, so what the heck, I grabbed (2) 1 pound pouches of frozen soursop pulp. 

I've heard of soursop fruit, never tasted it, but what the heck!  I'm always looking for something new and fun!  At check out, the clerk asked me if the frozen stuff was good.  I replied, I didn't know as I've never tried it before.  She commented that the fresh fruit is Really Good!   Hmmm, well, this is starting off on a good note!
IMG_20191124_121534086.jpg

At home, I nicked the pouch and tasted the fruit.  It tasted like melon-banana-strawberry.  Fibery sections with 1 large black seed.  As the seeds were large and seemed easy to remove, I worked through the pulp, separating the seeds.  I didn't want to run it through a food mill, I thought the seeds were big enough that the mill action would scrape off some of the exterior and might be a bit bitter.   Easy-peasy to pop out the seeds.
IMG_20191124_121544075.jpg

IMG_20191124_122043460.jpg

IMG_20191124_122109093.jpg

IMG_20191124_122636605.jpg

Add  a couple ingredients-
3 garlic cloves
1/4 white onion
2 Tbsp lime juice
1/4 cup white balsamic
1 tbsp grated ginger
1 fatalii pepper
IMG_20191124_123434674.jpg

IMG_20191124_123558769.jpg

This was simmered for a bit then ran through the food processor with a blade.  The result was....not the right stuff.  Too lumpy and too stringy.  So...  Off to the BlendTec we go!
IMG_20191124_131516051.jpg
IMG_20191124_132844582.jpg