• General food and cooking questions, discussion, and recipes. To blog your food or to create (or post in) a community food thread, please post in Post Your Eats!

grilling Thinking of purchasing a new grill/smoker

Hello all,
I have been a member here for a little while but this is my first post in the BBQ/Grilling section.  I saw a deal at our local Academy Sports for the grill/smoker in the link below for $229.

http://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/outdoor-gourmet-triton-4-burner-propane-and-charcoal-grill/pid-1067116?color=Black&N=578846087 

I currently have this http://www.lowes.com/pd_44754-49769-2121_0__?productId=3033621&Ntt=char+griller&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Dchar%2Bgriller&facetInfo= with the smoker box attachment.

I wanted to get a combo because I love using charcoal (and the smoker box) on the weekends, but i don't grill enough during the week because of the time involved of using charcoal after work. I enjoy smoking meats but i am by no means a pro.  I do however grill a lot, especially on the weekends. I originally wanted this grill/smoker http://www.lowes.com/pd_5050-49769-5050_0__?productId=1245537&Ntt=char+griller&pl=1&currentURL=%3FNtt%3Dchar%2Bgriller&facetInfo= but obviously it is more expensive at $299. So sorry for all the links and the long story, but i was wondering if anyone has used either one of these grills/smokers and what your thoughts are.

Thanks

I am personally not big on combo deals but that is just me. I have smokers to smoke and grills to grill. I hate that I use propane but in the winter months it is very convenient :) The same applies to an electric smoker I use mainly for smoking peppers but in the winter on cold days meat may make an appearance. 

I am a huge fan of Weber products and if I had the coin I'd be going custom. 

Enjoy!

I'm with Joyner,offset smokers are fuel hogs in my opinion.A nice Weber will smoke for along time on one load of heat and wood chunks.Or as a grill.

This