• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

To Pinch or not to Pinch?

That is the question. Since this is my first year growing peppers I kind of went on the overly cautious side and planted like 3 or 4 seeds per section in the seedling trays. Well now they have begun to sprout and there are 3-4 sprouts per spot.

Is it possible to tease them apart when it comes time for the 1st transplant or should I just bite the bullet and pinch off the smaller ones in each spot? It would be nice if I could save them all but understand if it isn't really feasable.

Let me know your thoughts please.

it's not problem to save them if you want to. I've never had a problem saving two or three seedlings that were germinated in the same pot, but once the roots start expanding too much they'll get tangled up and it gets tricky to separate....but even then I've had success. Give it a go, just not right away after they sprout. Allow for some roots to form.

Hey Maligator!

I faced the same issue, well, am still facing it as I still have seeds in the germination bin..lol. Anyway, the one thing you might consider is space and time...you have planned for 1 plant per pod, but have 3 times or even 4 times that in each pod...if you save them all, will you have room to light them, grow them and time to tend to them? Those things were the deciding factor for me. I planted two per pod, and a bunch of pods were successful in germinating both seeds...so, with already over 200 plants planned, I barely have room for those, and I would nearly double my plants if I saved them all, so I decided to pinch the extra plant in each pod....it hurt me deeply to do so though...;(. I also found it difficult to decide which one to pinch, basically I chose to keep the older/stronger one.

Good luck with what you choose to do!

chillilover said: