• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Topping Sweet Peppers?

I'm a novice grower, but I got the impression that sweet peppers grow like hot peppers. Since topping/pruning can increase yield for hot peppers I guess its the same for sweet peppers.

newril said:
I'm a novice grower, but I got the impression that sweet peppers grow like hot peppers. Since topping/pruning can increase yield for hot peppers I guess its the same for sweet peppers.

Right I was thinking that too, but so far what I am reading suggest the opposite. Wondering if anyone can verify from first hand experience. ;-D

I read somewhere people recommending not to top annums. This is my first year to start sweets from seed rather than buy starters so I am going to try topping some of them to see what happens. For some reason my sweets don't usually turn out well anyway so might not matter either way.

Topping is usually done for a reason. IE: Space constraints, desire for more low shoots/growth, or other similar reasons.

Sweet annuums are generally short, more compact plants already.

Personally, I just let peppers of most vars do their thing unless I have a need to change the growth habit.

I toped a few of mine with varying results , some bushed out and grew lots of pods and were better for it, others had weird wirey branches growing of in bad directions that I eventually had to cut off as they were not very effective for potted peppers. I am going to defiantly top my plants this year again but I'm going to make sure I keep on top of them and circumvent any poor branch choices.

KrakenPeppers said: