• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

when to bring hots inside

Hello Everybody,
I am new to The Hot Pepper and new to growing. I have some naga, 7-pod, and scorpions that I am thinking about digging out of the ground and bringing inside with the weather in Wisconsin turning cooler. It has started to drop in to the 40's at night. There are some orange pods but very few have turned red. Will it shock the plants to dig them out? Will it stop them from getting ripe? Thanks for the Help!

YMMV, but I tried it a couple of years ago with a couple of Habs that would bursting with pods and blooms. The blooms all dropped but the pods at least ripened, even if they grew very little. Had I used better potting mix, I might have had better luck but I don't think it would have helped the blooms.

Mike

Good questions. I'm in the NE Ohio area, and we're down to the upper 40's for the first time tonight. Spent most of last winter on a project in the northern peninsula of WI - brrrr!!! I am new to growing peppers, too, but did decide to put mine in pots (ceramic) at the beginning of the season, so I won't have digging to do for them. However, I did put my basil in the ground, and will be digging up at least some of that before winter hits. Hmm. Actually, I think I'll do a cutting and see how that works out, then won't bother digging if it does.

At any rate, from everything I've read, peppers do well down to about 50F. However, lots of people in this area of the country have indicated they'll do well outside until frost hits. I'm planning on leaving mine outside until it gets down to the mid-40's, then will put them in the garage overnight. Once it gets colder than that on a more consistent basis, though, I plan on bringing them into the house.