• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

greenhouse Are any of these greenhouses that are on sale worth getting?

Once again I was on one of my favorite sites called woot, this week they are selling portable greenhouses for what appears to be a good price.  Are they worth getting at this price, or would it be better/more cost effective if I were to make my own?  I have no experience whatsoever with greenhouses, the closest thing I've used is my indoor grow/OW setup.  One or two of these appear to be a decent size, but I'm having a hard time visualizing how many plants they could hold...

http://tools.woot.com/plus/greenhouses-2?ref=gh_tg_5_wp_4

Those are comparable to the kind they sell at tractor supply. I have a 4 shelf one I got at
Tractor supply I got this spring and i really like it. I just bought an 8 shelf walk in from tractor Supply on sale about A month ago. Price wise the ones at tractor supply are alittle cheaper.

I cannot pull up the link. I've built 5 greenhouses in the past ten years. Now granted I'm building larger than portables. And I've been tweaking as I upgrade. I only have one greenhouse now as it is st a new place and I'm actually working on the fifth.

The thing with the kits I've found is the size is smaller and materials not as strong as you could make yourself. Now with that said I wasn't able to go to the link and see what you were looking at.

For instance. Harbor freight sells greenhouses. They seem to be a decent price. They need modification for them to last. The metal needs reinforcing and the door tweaked because it doesn't seal. And for the money, even at harbor freights prices, I've found I could build a larger greenhouse for about the same.

About 8 years ago atlas was selling a 48" hoop house with heater and vent fans for about 5-6k. That's a too price I think but you still had to build your own front and back wall. And its a huge greenhouse.