• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Beginner needs help in growing pepper plants

This is my first time growing pepper plants. I planted the seed a month ago and have a 2" plant still with the false leaves... am I on schedule? ALSO- how much light should I give the plants?

how much light should I give the plants?

As much as you can afford. Indoors, you can't provide the intensity of the sun, even with the most powerful lights.

Introduce the plants to the lights slowly though so you don't scorch the leaves.

Sounds about right. These are mine that I planted on or about February 15th. The cotyledons (false leaves) are the plant's main engine for photosynthesis. They main seem a little slow right now, but once the second or third set of true leaves show up, expect them to really take off. At that point, it should be warm enough outside to have them hardened off and ready for full morning/early afternoon sun.

http://thehotpepper.com/topic/37635-experiment/page__st__20

What type of pepper? The hotter the pepper, the slower the grow in less than perfect, laboratory-like conditions. They'll take as much light as you can give them. The more, the better. I pretty much just go the natural growing route without artificially created environments, so I don't have much experience with lighting and greenhouses and what-not, but I have seen lots of people on this forum say that 18 hrs a day is optimal.

Pepper plants also like warm soil... 80-85 degrees. The warmer temps promote better rooting. Good luck with the grow!

I am still tweaking things. The experiment is on a 36" X 18" X 5 shelf unit. So it's four 16" shelves plus the top. The whole thing can hold 200 plants, which is my intention over the next month.