Big Hello from the Windy City!

Hey there all! I'm new here, and boy am I glad I found this site! It's nice to find a bunch of fire-mouths like myself! :onfire:

I'm also new to growing any kind of plant. I looooooove everything spicy. (Having no one steal my food is an added bonus XD). The idea to start growing my own started when I had my first orange hab not too long ago. I had finally found something that I could consider spicy! The next day I headed to the local nursery and bought 3 of these awesome plants. They were small, a nice dark green color with no flowering.

I made the rookie mistake of trying to grow them under an aquarium light and ended up with some pretty leggy plants. They did, however grow VERY fast. I would have to raise the light every day or so. The leaves were always very perky. Perfectly straight out and looking from the top it was very symmetrical. After a bit, they hit a plateau and there they stayed.

Frustrated, I set out to make a hydroponic system for them, in hopes that it would help stimulate some better growth. I chose an ebb and flow system and used the same light, leaving the smallest plant by the window in its original soil and container (I know, I know.). The transition didn't seem to phase them and they both flowered once or twice, always dropping in a day or two. Much of this was probably because of lack of nutrient in the water as well as lighting. I would have bought both of those but one of my snakes needed a vet visit, and being a broke college student, I didn't have any money to spare. The plants grew straight up most of the way and then branched into a V. They are very, very leggy.