• Blog your pepper progress. The first image in your first post will be used to represent your Glog.

Big Lesson Just Learned About Germination

As a newbie I appear to be quite impatient; waiting 4 weeks for germination on a heat mat with lights for hot peppers to germinate.  I gave up on the peat pellets and decided to take a peak into each peat pot to see if there were anything germinating.  Only two yellow bhuts and a black jalapeno germinated, so I moved them to regular soil and they are doing great.  The rest of the peat pots I emptied into a large Ziploc bag and set it the shed.  1 week later I decide to use the peat in a soil mixture to plant some Serrano seeds and low and behold I  had 4 pepper plants sitting at the top of that bag!  No light, lots of moisture, colder temperatures (40-70) and in a Ziploc bag completely closed off!  I also found several seeds deep in the peat that had germinated and began their seed leaves, so I transplanted them also. I will update to see if this all works out.  Pretty exciting!  Lesson learned is to be very patient and stop being so worried about whether they germinate or not; they will,  just on their time!

Yes,  always wait what you think is long enough then stop,  and wait some more lol

I always try and use pots with failed sprouts for the same kind of seeds-  for example,  if I plant a chocolate habanero and it doesn't' sprout,  I re-sow into the same cup.  That way if they both end up sprouting I at least know they're both cocolate habs   :)