• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

greenhouse Dashboard greenhouse

Hello all. So this is my first post here. Brand new to the forum. Its February in New York (Long Island to be exact) and the winter has been so mild I thought I would try getting my pepper plants started early. So I sprouted 6 plants in my basement over a 25 watt light for warmth and once they got going, every morning when I go to work I take them along. My car gets full sun through the day and the interior of the car even on a cold day gets at least into the high 60's to low 80's. I put the tray of plants on the dashboard with a slight tilt and they get crazy sun. THis is my first year of dashboard greenhouse but so far I have to say I recommend the method. I hope to have plants that are bearing fruit in early may if all goes well. The huge benefit is that there is so much intense light that there is no legginess. I will update as time goes on. If it goes well I may have to get a bigger car.

Hello all. So this is my first post here. Brand new to the forum. Its February in New York (Long Island to be exact) and the winter has been so mild I thought I would try getting my pepper plants started early. So I sprouted 6 plants in my basement over a 25 watt light for warmth and once they got going, every morning when I go to work I take them along. My car gets full sun through the day and the interior of the car even on a cold day gets at least into the high 60's to low 80's. I put the tray of plants on the dashboard with a slight tilt and they get crazy sun. THis is my first year of dashboard greenhouse but so far I have to say I recommend the method. I hope to have plants that are bearing fruit in early may if all goes well. The huge benefit is that there is so much intense light that there is no legginess. I will update as time goes on. If it goes well I may have to get a bigger car.