• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

overwintering Does over wintering just mean putting your plants in pots and bring them indoors?

:onfire: Im new to the whole pepper growing thing and i want to know when the season is done how to preserve my plants.

You've got the basic idea. I've had good luck overwintering the last couple of years. Biggest problem I've encountered is aphids. turn your back for a few days and there's an infestation. Safer soap has controlled them for me. I keep my plants in a greenhouse that gets down as low as 40 F, so I have to be careful not to overwater the plants. The benefit is a plant with a good root system ready to take off in the spring.

Good luck with it,
Tom

For the most part, yes. There's a pinned overwintering thread in the growing forum, and also www.thechileman.org has a good overwintering post worth checking out. I overwintered 2 my first year, then 10 last year, and it's worked out pretty well for me. I repot before bringing my plants indoors to reduce the aphid problem, but it doesn't eliminate it 100%, so also spray regularly. I use the method to prune both the tops and roots fairly severely, so that and the reduced light makes the plants go dormant, but you don't have to do that.