• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Drying Cayenne Peppers

Hi - I'm a newbie both to this forum and also to growing hot peppers. I have a great crop of cayenne peppers, and I would like to dry them to make Crushed Red Pepper flakes. I have ordered a really nice food dehydrator, but it won't arrive for a few more days.

In the meantime, I have picked the ripe peppers, and just put them in a bowl in the kitchen. They are beginning to get that dried appearance, although there is still some moisture in them.

My plan is to finish the job when I get the dehydrator, and then grind them up.

Is this method going to work (half dry on the counter, finished up in the dehydrator?)

What is the best method of grinding the peppers?

Are crushed red peppers typically made with cayenne peppers, or some other variety?

And finally, what else can I do with these peppers? I'd like to make some hot sauce, but don't know how.

I appreciate any advice you can give me.

Thanks!

Welcome Elizabeth. Cayennes are one of few types of pepper that dry easily for me usually without a dehydrator. I'm working on stringing a ristra with my whippet's tail peppers, they dry quicker this way and look cool. Where are you from and what's the humidity like? I grind mine in a cheap electic chopper and then in a coffee grinder for finer powder.

Hi Elizabeth, and welcome! There are some really excellent sauce makers here that can give you some good advice.

Cayenne peppers dry very easily, so you can actually dry them on the counter without the dehydrator. I would just spread them out on a cookie sheet or in a basket to speed the drying.

I think the commercial crushed red peppers, the stuff you buy in stores is made from cayennes, but I can't swear to that. You can make your own hot pepper powders from most any kind of pepper, though, and add heat or taste as it suits you.