• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

favorite chile oil

recently i ate dinner at the neighborhood sushi joint.. its a little corner sushi and chinese buffet thats been here in orlando for about 16 years or so.. ive been eathing there since 1999. i have a friendly rapport with the owner and his wife who also operate. like i said they have buffet and sushi, and since i always get one of those, i never order off the main menu.. well the other night i got this crazy seafood and pan fried noodle dish off the main menue for a change of pace.. it was really good but i wanted some hot sauce i asked for some, and the owner Ping brought me some chile oil instead of the usual srirracha, or this soy chile thing he makes there (also really good)

chile oil.. id had it, but usualy its just this oily stuff with a bunch of chile flake in it..

this was finely diced chunks of fresh chiles, fried in a small amount of oil.. it made a very flavorful paste that was great on my noodles. moderate heat with moderate chile flavor..

i asked him and he said it was just that.. fried chiles in oil.

i had to try it.. i made 4 diffefrent oils today with 4 different kinds of peppers i have growing

1) thai hots: 10 small thai hots 4 tbsp of veg oil, fried them up at 250 deg F.. no hotter because i didnt want them to burn.. i was diceing pretty fine for maximum flavor.
this mix was good, but my thai hots are a bit bitter and then very hot.. thats all they are, so.. as you can imagine thats what this oil tasted like..a bit bitter and then really hot....
tried adding sesame, but then that was all i could taste.. and of course it was still really hot..

2) cayennes: tried 6 large dried cayennes.. with 4 tbsp of veggie oil.. better flavor, decent heat.. but the cayenne isnt the most flavorful of peppers either.. this oil was just ok... about like what i had at the restaurant.